Search:     Advanced search

Google Drive Syncronization

Article ID: 165
Last updated: 16 Dec, 2015
Revision: 6
Add comment
Views: 1554
Comments: 0
Posted: 16 Dec, 2015
by Narciso S.
Updated: 16 Dec, 2015
by Narciso S.

Updated: 12/16/2015
Category: Mirage Media Server
Products: Mirage Media Servers MMS-2A, MMS-5A 

The Content tab of the MMS Config allows you to enter your account credentials for streaming media services and cloud services supported by the MMS.

Your MMS can interface with Google Drive to synchronize music and playlists from multiple MMS systems across the cloud.  Each MMS can be configured to (1) Copy content from the cloud (downsync)  (2) Copy content to the cloud (upsync) or (3) both.  In most circumstances, each MMS would be configured for both downsync and upsync.

To enable this feature, enter a valid Google Drive user ID and password, and select the appropriate sync options for your circumstance.  It may be advisable to use a separate Google account solely for the MMS sync;  this will keep MMS content separate from the user's other files.

Sync Functions: 

Each MMS performs a sync check with Google every 30 minutes.  The synchronization process will create an Autonomic folder in the root of the account's Google Drive.  Tampering with this folder or files may result in unexpected behavior.

The MMS will first attempt to download all new tracks and playlists contained in the cloud which are not present locally.  Once the download is complete, any tracks or playlists on the MMS which are not in the cloud will be uploaded.  

Playlist sync will work with local tracks.  Any streaming content tracks (e.g. spotify tracks) contained in a playlist will be skipped.

Tips:

  • If you remove Google Drive credentials from an MMS, the tracks downsynced to that MMS from Google drive will be deleted.  In other words, it will only retain songs which it originally contributed.
  • If you manually delete a track from the Autonomic folder within Google Drive, it will be deleted from the MMS unless it was the original contributor of the track.
  • Any tracks deleted in the cloud are moved to trash.  In the event of an erroneous deletion, the data may still be recoverable.  However, this behavior also means deleted files will occupy space on the cloud drive.  It may be necessary to occasionally clear out the trash folder in order to free up space.

Also listed in
folder Mirage Media Server
folder Installation Guides -> Mirage Media Server Installation Guide -> Set Up Your Mirage Media Server
folder Sync Tools

Prev   Next
KB0166 Configuring your MMS for Spotify     KB0075 Connection timeout parameter for Streaming Services